Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Teaser Tuesdays: Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan (Sep 15)

Okay, so for those of you who are new to this meme, here's how it works:

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My current read is Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life... until now.
Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
(380 pages)
Here's this week's teaser, from page 67:
I've never understood coloring books.
Either draw a picture, or don't. But why waste your time coloring in someone else's work? 
Let me know what you think of the book, and check back on Friday for my review!

4 comments:

  1. Great pick, Jaina! Counting by 7's was such as interesting read.

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Tanya! It really was a very gripping book, and I enjoyed reading it a lot.

      Delete
  2. This is a striking quote for a 12yo, but she is a genius, so I guess that makes sense. What a tough topic to tackle from a kid's POV.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, Willow is definitely a fabulously intelligent little girl. I love the gems that she comes up with!

      Delete

Thank you for leaving your thoughts!